Romancing God and Me

Backsliding, straying, messing up slipping up, there are so many ways to refer to it really. In any case it is very real and more often than not we do find that somehow we have moved away from God. He seems like a distant person somewhere and you really wish you could get to know Him once again. Sometimesit’s not really that you have been caught up in something major but somehow the relationship seems to have just gone cold. I find myself there and the prayers have become,

Lord Help me to know you once again.

Help me to feel that love that passion that we once had.

Bring me to tears once again with your love,

Humble me with your wisdom and thoughtfulness.

Fill my mind with the fragrance of your Grace once again.

Let your living waters flow over me once again.

Give me back that hunger and that desire that once burned within me, for You.

You seek and really really want your relationship to be restored. Sometimes it doesn’t happen in a day as I have just experienced. It’s actually taken and is still taking some effort from me. Its like trying to get that special someone’s attention once again. He is there, I have no doubt that God is there with arms wide open and still burning with love for me. I need to feel it once again. A pastor once said that what kept him in love with his wife were the prayers he prayed for her. So as I pray more and more I find that it is coming back. I get reminded of what He has done for me. In turn…, today He dropped a scripture in my heart that was so encouraging for me. It was really special. It was like that little note you get at the beginning of the day saying, “I love you and I want you to have a great day!” Simple… but full of thought, from someone who knows what is happening in your life and just wants you to know that they care!

So even if I have slipped behind a little, I can still seek Him, romance Him and be romanced right back, because He loves me and forgives me through His faithfulness. Love Him.

Leave a Reply

