Privilege of Weakness

Some of us are weaker than others in certain aspects of our lives. I am a shy person and generally have low confidence levels. This goes with the usual, low self-esteem and a higher than normal regard of what people think about me. These are weaknesses that I am very painfully conscious of. In my Christian walk, I have found that I have to rely very heavily upon God, in order me to do anything, especially ” big” things. It has had its highs and lows in my life. The highs being that I need to spend a lot of time with God and the lows being that if I have moved away from God then everything  seemingly goes wrong in my life. Most times there is a loss of equilibrium in my life. I am not able to be self-sufficient for very long. Every now and again I come to a place where I say, “It’s not fair”. The same scriptures in the bible apply to all of us but then some people seem to be better equipped to apply them than others. Take for example (2 Timothy 1:7), “He has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity but of love, power and a sound mind.” That scripture for me is an anchor, I find myself praying it a lot and having to remind myself of it very frequently. I am beginning to see my weakness as a privilege though. Though it is hard to see it that way when you are in a low and frustrated place, people like me in a way are in a good position. For it is harder for a rich man to get into heaven than for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle. James (1) writes that believers who are poor should boast because God has honoured them (and those who are rich should boast because God has humbled them). In John (15) Jesus says that He is the vine and without Him we can do nothing. For me that is a very true statement, without Him I can do nothing. I find it very difficult to stray far from God and for that I am grateful. I’m not saying that its bad to be confident and outgoing, I’m just saying that if you are not then do not despair, because we have been honoured by God. He has decided to keep us close to His bosom so to speak. For that reason we should be soaring high because “they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength they shall rise on wings like eagles”.

Leave a Reply

