Doing God Favours

 

Deu 10:12

 

 “And now, Israel, what does the LORD your God require of you, but to fear the LORD your God, to walk in all his ways, to love him, to serve the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul,  (ESV)

That is all that God asks from us. Lets face it God is God creator of all the earth heavens and universe. What is there that God

does not already have. He is almighty, there is non like Him.

So I find myself negotiating with Him and it clicks to me. I could give Him so many excuses about why I shouldnt do what I know

I should be doing. Things like opening your bible today to read it. Not complaining when you have just been served some sort of

injustice. Then it hit me, that every excuse I had (for not going to connect group) was invalid, why because to be honest it doesn’t add

or subtract from God whether I obey or not. We actually sometimes believe that we are doing God a favour.

The truth is that when you are so valiantly fighting God He is fighting for you. It’s for your own good. It’s all for my benefit and none

of it is for His. Even if you consider worship, it’s all for my benefit. Worship strengthens me and not Him. Sometimes we need to just sit

and consider these simple things and do the one thing that God really wants us to do. That’s summarised in Deuteronomy 10 v 12. Its

the same thing that Jesus spoke about in the new testament. (He is a constant God).

So this is my challenge to myself and to everyone. Lets stop living like we are doing God any favours and just do what He is  quite

humbly asking from us (considering what He has given up).

Leave a Reply

